Arts Itoya in Takeo city

About Takeo city


This gatehouse in the onsen area, near Arts Itoya. It was designed by Kingo Tatsuno, designer of the Bank of Japan building and the Marunouchi building of Tokyo Station. The gatehouse is classified as an Important Cultural Property.


Takeo (武雄市 Takeo-shi) is a city located in Saga Prefecture on the island of Kyushu, Japan. In 2011, the city government was the first in Japan to switch to using Facebook for its website.

As of October 1, 2016, the city has an estimated population of 48,845 and a population density of 257 persons per km². The total area is 195.44 km².

On March 1, 2006, the towns of Kitagata and Yamauchi (both from Kishima District) were merged into Takeo.



Takeo is located in the western part of Saga Prefecture. It is approximately 28 kilometers (17 mi) west of Saga City and approximately 30 kilometers (19 mi) east of Sasebo. Takeo has a complex topography including mountains, mountain basins and riverside plains.

– Mountains: Mt. Mifune (210 m), Mt. Hachiman (764 m), Mt. Bi (518 m), Mt. Jinroku (447 m)

– Rivers: Rokkaku River, Shiomi River, Yamanaka River


<1889-04-01> – The modern municipal system was established. The current city region is occupied by 1 town (Takeo) and 11 villages (Asahi, Hashishita, Higashikawanobori, Kitagata, Kitsu, Nakato, Nishikawanobori, Sumiyoshi, Takeo, Takeuchi and Wakaki).

<1900-06-07> – Takeo Village was incorporated into Takeo Town.

<1944-04-29> – Kitamura Village became Kitamura Town.

<1954-04-01> – Takeo Town absorbed the villages of Asahi, Hashishita, Higashikawanobori, Nishikawanobori, Takeuchi and Wakagi to create Takeo City. The villages of Sumiyoshi and Nakato were merged to create Yamauchi Village.

<1956-04-01> – Hashishita Village was split and was incorporated into Kitagata and Shiroishi (respectively).

<1960-09-01> – Yamauchi Village became Yamauchi Town.

<2006-03-01> – The towns of Kitagata and Yamauchi were incorporated into Takeo City.